Rockin With REW

Saturday, September 24, 2005

Made it out to the Gunks today with the dynamic duo of REW and Hockey Chick. It was an extremely good time. The subject of the old Batman TV show came up once, must be the inspiration for the dynamic duo thing… We managed to get everybody up in the air AND back down again without any problems and judging by the smile on her face at the top and when she got back down, I think REW had a pretty good time.

I haven’t had much coffee in the last month or so and this morning had 4 cups before heading out to the crag. Tea is a wonderful, calm, uplifting stimulant, but WOOOO! Coffee really has a kick. I just felt bouncy all over the rock. Slight flashback to the bouldering days when I would intentionally over-caffeinate before I would climb. Also flashed back playing with some dynos once or twice(a dyno is a dynamic move where if missed one will fall, think of it more as bouncing or jumping from one hold to another). I love dynos even if they are a little showboaty. I don’t usually get a chance to do too much dynamic movement due to fear of hitting the ground but it just felt good today so…

and hopefully next time they come up the Blonde Lady will be able to play, too. Instead of traipsing all over Italy (really, I'm not jealous at all)

If you would like to see more photos of our little adventure you can go here. (this is the danger of a digital camera- we took around 60 pictures...)

7 Comments:

Blogger Yoga Chickie said...

Chris, you are a handsome fella! And what a good friend to take the gals a-gunking!

Lauren

9/24/2005 10:20 PM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Aw, shucks, YC, you're makin' me blush. Seriously though, thanks, that's nice of you to say.

And it was a pleasure having the gals a-gunking.

9/25/2005 7:36 AM

 
Blogger Soapwalla Chef said...

chris, we had so much fun! what are you doing tomorrow? :-D

9/25/2005 11:52 AM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Looks like you guys had a blast...so envious! I sent off an email to the friend of ours that has been storing all our climbing gear in the hopes of getting it sent back our way soon! There is just nothing like it eh....

xSMN

9/25/2005 6:08 PM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

rew- Unfortunately I'm working. Looks like a whole lotta that this week including next weekend...

SMN- don't be envious. Just grab your gear, fly half way around the world, and come climbing with us. Anyway, you're just coming into your climbing season. We're almost done with ours.

9/25/2005 6:34 PM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I know...I walked out of the house this morning...and thought...I "smell" summer....yahoo! There is a quarry near us for some outdoor practice/toprope...but it is like 5'10 and up only, mostly overhanging....it is probably just about dry enough now to give it a whirl. We are headed a bit north for a few days (might get those yga pix done)... don't work too hard....SMN

9/25/2005 7:45 PM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

SMN-
I won't get jealous of you, now until it snows :) That sounds like a great place to climb, No bolts? Good luck getting the pics done, you still are supposed to post your "race car" pic...

9/26/2005 8:18 AM

 

Post a Comment

<< Home