Slow Flow (My Current Theme)
Thursday, September 01, 2005
I think my yoga is trying to balance itself with the rest of my life. It seems as the pace I’ve been going at work continues to increase, the pace of my practice continues to slow down. I’m not entirely sure it has slowed as it’s not taking much longer to do, it could just be a relativity thing. I know I love how slow it feels. The movements feel specific, controlled and slow and my breathing is long, slow breaths. All of this is exactly opposite of how I feel at work. I think I’ve felt a need for my practice more this week than ever before. I need that balance to help me make it through my day. Today was a long one. I was at the studio practicing by 7:00 this morning, from there went to work and got home a bit before 9 and I’m finally getting a chance to write before I crash. I enjoyed moving through my practice this morning and I really felt that way through the whole thing. Each pose was intentional and there was no looking forward and no looking back. I just moved. Mari D took a step forward today. I’m still a ways from binding but it’s visible now. Jump-throughs were very slow and deliberate today and I played with how I hold my feet while bringing them through and I even used half blocks for a few of them just to move through them in super slow motion with nothing touching so I could observe the muscles in use.
Today was another good but hectic day. My work study students started in at 9 this morning and I had them through 5, plus everything else I have going on. So far I have a great group of students and they really like to work and challenge themselves. It’s kinda funny that I have these girls/women working for me that like to pick the dirtiest jobs. When given an option, they always go for the dirt. I think a couple of them like to wear the dirt/grease/oil/rust as a badge to show how strong they are. I also like that they go home and brag to their friends that they’re carpenters. Now if I can just get them to switch majors to tech theatre…
3 Comments:
....showing your "macho" side a bit (or should I say steroetypical male)....chics that like to get dirty, eh? How odd?! :) SMN
9/01/2005 10:15 PM
Too irresistable not to call you on it, darling.....I am sure the others (meaning other "wise" women readers) would have done the same! Cheers SMN
9/01/2005 10:33 PM
I think about trying to argue this but the phrase "Me think he doth protest too much" keeps popping into my head so I guess I'll just let it go...
9/01/2005 10:43 PM
Post a Comment
<< Home