Auspicious Start...
Monday, January 02, 2006
Woke up on Saturday and couldn’t figure out why it was so cold…oh! The furnace isn’t working! Oh, Shit! I’m out of propane! Oh, Double Shit! I’m supposed to check that?! So that’s how Saturday started. The Blonde Lady and I built a fire in the fireplace to keep the heat going but the flue wasn’t open wide enough for the size fire we built so we set off the smoke detectors… We skipped practicing to wait for the propane Guy to come fill the tank up and then headed into Queens to spend a quiet New Year’s Eve at her place (all signs led to the boys above me throwing a party). The Blonde Lady made a wonderful stir-fry with peanut sauce and coconut rice and then we proceeded to pass out early (ok, well, I did) due to the possibility of getting up early and practicing with REW and Hockey Chick.
We got up at 5:00 but, due to extenuating circumstances we didn’t practice in the morning but made plans to go over to their place in the afternoon. We had a relatively leisurely morning, went back to bed and napped a bit, and then needed to head over to Brooklyn to look at a car for the Blonde Lady. We were bringing the dog along with us as she was getting a little stressed in this new environment so we walked her for a bit to get her emptied out, hopped in the car and headed out… but…oh, dear…shit…yes, shit… someone stepped in it. We had just gotten around the block and were almost back in front of Her apartment, we stopped in front of a bus stop to hop out quickly and clean our shoes and as I start to get back in… my door is locked… and the back door is locked… and every thing else is locked… shit! Shit! Shit!... and it’s running…and our cell phones are in the car… and the dog is in the car… Outfuckingstanding! So She runs back into her place (glad we didn’t get too far) and calls Ford’s roadside assistance. 30ish minutes later we’re back in and headed off to Brooklyn about an hour late. We called REW and HC on the way to Brooklyn to beg out of our plans so as not to drag our cloud over their heads. We did look at the car which turns out to not be what She was looking for but it gave us a better idea of what She was looking for so it was a worthwhile trip. And then we headed back up here on a beautiful drive up the Taconic Parkway, had some lovely Sesame Tofu with garlic spinach and rice that the Blonde Lady so graciously cooked (Again! She’s starting to spoil me…), watched some bad TV and then hit the sack…and listened to the thumping from above… The sad thing is, it’s not that they’re being loud; it’s just that this house has horrible acoustics… oof..
Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 Comments:
as i said to the Blonde Lady, now you've gotten all the shit (literally and figuratively!) out of the way so the rest of the year will be smooth sailing :-)
happy new year!
1/02/2006 8:56 AM
Always seeing the bright side :)
1/02/2006 5:46 PM
Post a Comment
<< Home