Down the Crapper

Thursday, March 09, 2006

I really hate my practice right now.  I just don’t want to do it.  I think I’m tired of being in an ugly, cold, industrial room by myself and trying to do asanas.  I haven’t practiced since Friday and I’ve come in early enough the last three days but I don’t do anything, I just go to work instead.  Today I got through two Surya A’s and I just didn’t want to do it anymore.   I think I’m going to need to start going back to the yoga studio… the classes aren’t quite what I’m looking for and the times are less than convenient, but I need some help.  Hi, My name is Chris, and I’ve flushed my yoga practice down the toilet.

Work is actually good right now.  Moving upward hopefully with a little extra funding.  The builds are going well but my class, however, is not doing so well.  They had their first test on Monday.  I normally really get a kick out of sitting in a room when everyone else is taking a test because the focus and energy is so high.  Well, on Monday I didn’t feel that and I sort of blamed it on just getting used to it.  I also watched as two people sweated their way through the test, obviously horribly prepared.  I think people may have been expecting something a little less thought involved.  After grading… over half the class had a D or an F.  Now, my class isn’t hard in the first place, but I also give a study guide that has ALL the questions on it so if you just take a couple of hours to look up the answers you’ll do fine.  Obviously they didn’t feel the need.  I have a hunch they may study for the next one.

Back to the yoga gripe.  I would think with Pattabhi coming I would really be trying to get myself to the best possible place so I can really gain as much as possible during that time.  I just can’t seem to pull myself together.  I haven’t even registered yet…

Blah…………………..

3 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hey Mr. Hard on himself.

You made it to the mat. There are points where that's all we can do. Remember that.

Namaste.

3/09/2006 9:18 AM

 
Blogger Soapwalla Chef said...

i think we need another group practice (hopefully followed by some time on the rock)!

make sure to sign up for guruji soon, as space is severely limited this year.

you have a LOT on your plate right now. work is demanding, you're preparing for a wedding, the weather SUCKS. this, too, shall sort itself out.

but in any event, i'll be sending virtual hugs with this post :-D

3/09/2006 9:40 AM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Retrograde! Blame it all on the Retrograde! That seems to be the recurring theme throughout ashtanga blogs lately. Retrograde! Now pick up your lower lip, get that check in the mail for Guruji, and start working on those chaturanga holds!

P.S. my practice sucks right now too. So we can mope together.

3/09/2006 9:41 PM

 

Post a Comment

<< Home