Back from Practice… It was delightful. I did the standing series followed by the primary and then added in an awkward but relaxed and fun start to the second series. I actually got through about a third of it. Then in the closing series I was working on dropping back and coming up from back bend with a wall assist… I almost made it up once and I actually did drop all the way down once, too. Unfortunately my hands weren’t ready so I landed on my head at a fairly good rate of speed. But I didn’t fall over! It’s good to be thick-headed sometimes. I guess I should add a little thank you to Manduka for their thick black mat... I was actually planning on using the wall to catch myself but I moved a little too far away and my backbend was a little too bent so I didn’t reach the wall.

My meditation at the top of practice seemed to flow toward understanding the roots, the causes, and the foundations of everything in our lives. Not in actually understanding them but knowing that I need to strive toward understanding and finding that from which everything flows. We use the idea in many areas of our lives. If you have a house and the walls are cracking, you can’t fix the walls without first fixing the foundation beneath. As in yoga, if there are alignment issues you can’t fix what you see, you have to step back and find the cause. Blocked energies in one area often have no symptoms by the blockage, the symptoms often show up elsewhere and we need to learn to trace them back. It works as well in our depressions, our procrastinations, and our escapism… what we are doing and feeling aren’t the problem, they are the results of the problem. So what the hell is the problem? What’s Your Problem?

Looks like the weatherman had a problem, too. They said it was supposed to rain all day today but it’s sunny and gorgeous right now. I was planning on working inside today but I think I’m going to the greenhouse and get some flowers and then come back and soak up some prana from all the elements.

Motivation is gone. I have a list a mile long of what I need to do before I move…Don’t want to do any of it. I’m preparing to heavily caffeinate and then head to the yoga studio to TRY to start integrating the second series into my practice. I started yesterday by thinking I would do the whole series (with modifications) before my 9:30 class. Yeah, right. I made it about half way through before I had to quit and I didn’t even have time to do the finishing poses. I have learned (god bless the internet) that it is often common to do a few of the second series poses after the primary until you can do about half and then start the second series after Navasana until you can do all of it and THEN you can alternate days between primary and second series (and then you start thinking about third…). I forgot how hard it was when I started doing yoga. I’m so used to strengthening poses I know and understand, while occasionally having a new one that is harder for me or that I have less of an understanding. But to have a whole series of poses that I don’t really know again is daunting. Is your yoga practice supposed to mirror your life??? Maybe it will help me develop the strength, patience, and fortitude I need to transfer my life to NP.

Blessed are the coffee growers…Coffee’s done. So is there a coffee saint? Or maybe the Hindu god(ess) of coffee? I want that statue.

And due to lack of funds I have taken on a couple more furniture projects… they should be fun projects but I really have enough to do as it is. But it’s looking more and more like I may not be starting in NP until July 5 (moving up on July 1). I think if I find any housing at this point probably won’t open until the first of July. And there’s always the joy of the unemployment check. Currently have the potential for a 3 bedroom house about 7 miles from NP. Other than costing $500 more a month than I want to spend, it sounds lovely. We’ll see if the raise comes through… still no word. I would like to go see it ASAP but I keep playing phone tag with the owner so I’m preparing to hop in the Gas Guzzler at a moments notice to cruise out there. I think the 3 bedroom, two bath thing will be nice. That way I can actually have a guest room and thus, I can actually have guests. Did I mention that it’s sitting on about an acre so lots or room for Oz.

Classes over the weekend we’re fantabulous. Saturday and Sunday both had around 10 students in each class and the energy was really great both days. One of the students Sunday morning thought it would be nice to open all the windows because it was too warm the week before… After I had been trying to warm the room up for two hours before class. So I closed the windows, and we had wonderfully vigorous sun salutations and warmed the room right up. It was a very mixed level class which was nice. It allowed some of the level one students a chance to see people flowing and gave them a nice understanding of the direction there practice can go. FOCUS however, was a problem for some. I did a seated meditation before class and obviously we did Savasana at the end of class and I don’t understand why people look around, pick their nails, play with there hair… Saturday was a blast. It’s classes like that that drive you through your own practice and all the less than stellar class we lead. Knowing that occasionally everyone’s energy flows together and is strong and lifting. There were times I remember moving around the room but I don’t remember my feet touching the floor. I did about a 10/12 minute seated meditation before the class and I felt like it really helped everyone arrive. I know it helped me out a lot.

Alright, I’m going to go practice now. I’ll try to keep writing. It keeps me focused and less depressed. Kind of like seeing a shrink, but cheaper.

One more cup…

Choosing the Unknown

Thursday, May 26, 2005

It’s getting a little weird now. Two days left and then I’m no longer doing what I’ve been doing for the last 4 years. I have to admit there is a slight freak-out factor occurring here. One of the things about Buffalo and SAT is they were regular, safe, and relatively easy. The unknown is… Well, I guess it’s just unknown. I guess there is no reason why the unknown can’t be safe and easy, it’s my choice… I’m also allowing myself to be overwhelmed with the prospect of moving. The living situation in NP is bleak but I have faith that it will improve soon. Almost found a place yesterday until they found out the size of my furry family. Soon, Very soon…have a little faith with me. I also told them I need more $$. We’ll see how that turns out. I wonder if it helps that my real estate agent is the Dean’s wife. Definitely doesn’t hurt.

I’m taking a few days off from asana right now. I think my body hasn’t had any down time in a while so when the muscle soreness and joints feel better I’ll get back into it. Probably won’t be long. Probably Sunday or Monday. I’ve decided to start the secondary series, too. I’m going to try alternating days between primary and secondary, I think my body could use the variety and the lessening of certain repetitious movements. Mainly jumping back and forward/thru. I was looking through the secondary series last night and I think I’ll be ok. Having a new sequence to work on will be a nice change of pace.

When stepping into the unknown there are only two options: stepping on to solid ground, or learning to fly - paraphrase of somebody…

My CHOICE. My Life. There is a beauty in all things if I choose to see it. I have strength and compassion if I choose to believe it. I am connected and a part of all things if I choose to feel it. My Choice, My Life. I choose YES.

Discovering New Paltz

Monday, May 23, 2005

Apartment hunting in New Paltz… Not quite what I was hoping for. This is a really beautiful but horribly over-priced area. What would go for 4 to 500 in just about any city I’ve lived in goes for 9 to 1200 here. I have to admit I was extremely discouraged at the end of our search today. I’m not sure how long it will really take to find a place to live. Hopefully by the 20th when I’m supposed to start working here, but I guess worst case is I push back my start date and collect a little more unemployment. I desperately needed a yoga class but the Ashtanga studio here was offering an “alignment” class where I think they break down the postures in more detail, which I’m sure would be very beneficial but not what I needed tonight. I stopped by Living Seed Yoga and they had a beginner class… so lastly I tried Jai Ma Yoga which seems to be a catch all type studio. Gina was the teacher and the class was “Moderate.” It was basically a level I/II vinyasa class. It was a nice class, I liked the sequence the teacher used. It started with a longer seated meditation at the beginning of class which I think would be great to add at the beginning of my Primary class since we have a little more time with the quicker pace. I felt like she did a nice job teaching the class to the I/II students yet added the more advanced options to those who were ready. I also felt that she did a nice job addressing the ego and the desire to push too far or not at all. During the class I was able to get both feet behind my head in sleeping yogi pose, it was not pretty, but I didn’t need an assist to do it. In locust pose she taught the Ashtanga style and then followed it with the Bikram style and for the first time I didn’t have to launch my legs off the ground to get them up over my head. It used to sort of work out to a reverse shoulder stand where it was just my chin and shoulders on the ground but today I was able to, with control, slowly lift my legs and really bend my back so a lot of my chest was on the floor and I was still able to get my feet over my head… I think all the back bending is paying off. I think when Gina said “Now lift both feet off the floor and then take them up over head” she said it jokingly like I do with Padottanasana C and touching the hands to the floor, so I think she was a little surprised when I actually did it. I felt really good after class and there was a natural food store next to the yoga studio so I stopped in to grab dinner after class. I felt like I walked into the co-op and they had just rearranged everything. I really feel more relaxed about finding an apartment after the class. I’m sure something will work out. Tomorrow morning I’m going to try to catch a class at the Ashtanga studio. Should be another vinyasa class…

Moving vent

Saturday, May 21, 2005

Helen (the cat) is laying across my forearms as I type this so I’m blaming all typos on her. So, a quick vent about moving. My real estate agent in NP is not thinking I’m going to be able to afford an apartment that will take three furries. She is encouraging me to buy either now or in a few months with a short but I’m sure expensive sublease for the summer. I’m going to NP on Monday to see what’s available but it’s a bit daunting to think about buying when I don’t know what I’m getting for this house. A simple apartment lease just sounds so relaxing for a while… Don’t have to fix anything, don’t have to maintain anything, just pay the rent and exist… Oh well, we’ll see what happens on Monday. Did I mention that I'm starting work there a month from yesterday?...

Time just won't stand still...

Friday, May 20, 2005


I mentioned this to a friend in an email, but it’s kinda weird, as I was walking up the stairs to my office this morning I realized that I only have 3 days left at work after today. That’s not much time considering I’ve been here for 4 years… I don’t even know where I’m going to live yet once I get to New Paltz. I supposed to meet with a real estate agent next week to look at apartments. She pointed out that I won’t be able to get an apartment with the paltry sum I said I wanted to pay… I may be commuting a bit, but at least it will be a pretty drive. Had a touching moment at work yesterday. One of my carpenters came up to say Goodbye and he gave me this clock that he had made. It’s a beautiful piece and he spent a lot of time working on it. I actually watched it progress as he built it. (I didn’t realize it was a gift for me…)



In Yoga News… Last night’s class was good. Beth did a flow class and I really like those better than the stop and drill classes. I played with backbend down the wall. I really like how much further that allows me to go into backbend. However, when I came out of back bend I thought I was dying. I had the worst pain in my side back, I thought it was some super intense muscle cramp and I couldn’t do a forward fold, I couldn’t go into shoulder stand without really intense pain. Then I realized what it was…Lunch. I had a bit too much fruit over lunch and it apparently decided it would be fun to build up a little gas for me to deal with. I’m used to the embarrassment of gas (obviously, I’m writing about it) but I’ve never experienced that sort of impediment due to gastro-intestinal distress. But in case you were concerned, I’m fine now. And my shoulders and wrists felt good. Beth went a little faster than normal and I think it allowed a little more heat to build so everything felt a little loose.

Practiced again this morning, Beth was going out of town so we met at the studio at 6:30 (Well I was there at 6:30, she didn’t show up for another 15 minutes!) and had a nice practice. We did the standing poses together and then went off on our own little tangents. I was still a little tight from last night’s class so I didn’t do all the primary poses. But I’m diggin’ the new core stuff and did some more wall backbends. 5 minute headstand and I was good to go. And my all time favorite, Savasana in a sunbeam.

So now I just need to get through work, repaint some chairs that I messed up for a client, get home and keep going on the outside of the house. My goal is to have the outside of the house and the yard done by the Friday of next week and I can really work on the inside once I’m off contract. Woo-Hoo!

Bipolar Yogi

Wednesday, May 18, 2005

Practice today was much better. I played with hand alignment on my floating forward and back and I found I need to point my first finger directly forward, whereas I had been pointing the space between my first and second fingers directly forward. I'm sure I'll need to play with it more but it definitely felt better today. It also took some of the strain out of my shoulder. Other fun observations from my practice today - In Marichyasana B and D, when I put my foot in half lotus it is EXTREMELY important to put that thigh down to the ground. This stretches the muscle around the outside of the hip which allows the strain to come off the knee. I realized today, that this is how I tweaked my knee last week. At the beginning of the week I was leaning to the side a bit and really getting the thigh down which loosened that hip up. That's why I could go into lotus so easy later in the series and I had never been able to before. As the week wore on I stopped taking the half lotus thigh down to the ground and never stretched the muscle around my hip... and thus tweaked the knee. I wish I would have figured this out before I hurt myself... Next Fun - Urdhva Dhanurasana - walking the hands up and down the wall is a lot of fun. It seems to work really well if you just set up lying on the floor with your head and hands by the wall. Then raise up into the pose and walk your hands up the wall to standing. This gets the spacing from the wall right. Then just practice reaching back and down as far as possible and catch yourself on the wall. Walk the hands down to the floor. When resting between poses I stayed up on my head and moved my hands closer to my feet. I think today may have been the bendiest of my back bends yet. I don't think dropping back and standing up are too far away (ie. month or two). It felt good. I was able to rock back and forth today, too, without it feeling awkward like it usually does. Beth reminded me I need to inhale when going forward/up as it counterintuitive... I also think that fear is a bigger obstacle than flexibility...

So I'm happy again. I did have to cut my practice a bit short due to a class coming in but all in all it was a good day.

Big Front, Big Back

Tuesday, May 17, 2005

Maria’s class tonight… It was a great class in one direction. I like everything we did and found it to be very helpful. Definitely some good core exercises I should slip into my own practice. But in the other direction it really sucked. I didn’t have the strength to do MY practice. I know this is a temporary thing but it is really frustrating. My body just doesn’t seem to have the strength and energy it needs to do what I know it can do. I don’t know if I am still healing/recovering from last week or if I had so much energy last week due to the excitement of the week and now I’m in a lull, or maybe I’m not eating the right foods (I’m not, really) or maybe all of the above. Maybe I just have a crappy attitude. Whatever it is, I wish it would go the hell away and let me have my strong happy practice again. Yeah, I know, we have to experience the bad to understand and appreciate the good, but that doesn’t make the bad suck any less. Thanks for listening to me vent.

Also took a step towards New Paltz today. Today was my last day to have staff at work so that was a little sad. It was kind of hard to watch people leave today but I know it’s time to go, my heart isn’t in my work here anymore. Only 6 work days left…

I found this on the AYRI website and thought it was neat. It's much easier to understand Pattabhi in this than in person...

http://ayri.org/opening-prayer.html

I Believe

Monday, May 16, 2005

Monday Morning – Two weeks of work left, only 8 days, wow that’s weird. I feel like there is still so much to do and figure out before I go. Almost makes me sick to my stomach. My mom might be coming near the end of the week to help me prep the house to sell and I might be going to New Paltz to look for an apartment this week, too. I’m definitely contacting real estate agents here and there. I think I’m slightly overwhelmed… One day at a time, make a list, check things off as they’re done, and Breathe.

I tried to do a blog Saturday after my primary class but it was lost somewhere between here and there and of course I didn’t have a copy to re-post and I was too tired to rewrite it so I’ll try to remember most of what I said and add a little for yesterday, too.

It simplest terms, It was beautiful. And I have been underestimating my students. I was thoroughly impressed with their practices; I really hope they were, too. I talked a little about my experience in NYC and ask them to change their minds, their way of thinking about what they can and can not do. And they did. They did ALL of the vinyasas, they straightened their legs in Navasana, they added the half/full lotuses where they hadn’t before, and they did chakrasana. Their focus was intense and man, did it get hot in there, I didn’t think 8 people could make that much heat. I think the faster pace of the salutations and the shorter downward dogs really help get/keep the heat up. I was really wanting to practice after class but I know my body still needed to rest… I think my body still needs to rest… I also mimicked Pattabhi’s teaching style more and found it to be extremely helpful. Say the pose, inhales and exhales into the pose and then count. Use the time counting to give assists and personal adjustments to people versus just say all the things everyone is supposed to be thinking of. And I never did a pose. First time for that… and the surprising thing was I felt very comfortable that way. We also did the chanting which was fine but It was new for me and it will take a few times before we all understand how it works to get it to smooth out.

On a side note: Before class someone was telling me that I can’t expect to change much because people/the students are really set in their ways and they want what they’ve been getting. I disagreed with that thought. My theory was that people are trying to do their best but they don’t always know what that is, so my job as a teacher is to take them there. And I think it works.

So I was really interested to see how I could transfer that to the Level I class on Sunday… I went in a little early and did my own primary before class and my body is still really…let’s just say still healing, from how hard I pushed it last week. I’m definitely more flexible than I was. Even with cold, tight hamstrings I can still palm the floor, so I guess that’s good. Wrist and shoulders are still tired, I’m looking forward to them recuperating because they really affect how strong I feel during a practice. So the class – Also went beautifully. It was really a I/II class for the most part (other than one person who was at both classes). We changed Surya B and sped up the pace a little (not as much as Saturday) and didn’t quite build up the heat we had on Saturday but I still think it pushed the students. I tried to keep a similar style but with more talking going in and out of poses and I would go back and forth from talking and counting depending on where the majority of the students were with the poses. It seemed to work well and I think they students were able to do a little more and challenge themselves a little more than before. We got everyone’s toes off the floor in Crow and we were able to get through more than I usually do so we did sarvangasana and sirsasana prep. And since the alignment was so good for most of them we did headstand up against the wall which was a first for many of them. And I think the students left feeling really good about what they had done and rightly so.

I think it works. Expect more – BELIEVE that there is more, and there is.

Home Sweet Home

Saturday, May 14, 2005

Good Morning. Well, It’s good to be home and in my own bed. The little furries walking back and forth at all hours. The quiet!!! And I was able to sleep in! I didn’t get up until 5:00! And I woke up thinking about my class today. Ideas as to how to do it, wondering how many people will be there, what will need explanation and what won’t. I’m also trying to figure out what I’m doing for today and for the rest of the classes, which I guess is only 4 more after today anyway, so… Anyway, I still have to get ready for today. I’ll have words coming out of my mouth I’m not used to saying so I had best get ready.

Oh, and I think my body has realized I'm not doing two-a-days any more and It has decided the muscles are allowed to tighten back up. I'm taking today off so we'll see how I feel tomorrow.

Homeward Bound

Friday, May 13, 2005

It is done. And I'm kinda sad and kinda tired and I had a really crappy practice this morning. I think it had to do with only 4 1/2 hours of sleep. And I jinxed myself so no adjustments for me today. Sunburned my knees in the park today, too. Time to go home, curl up with the furries and take a long, long nap.

Saw a girl in a t-shirt today that said "Yogis do it Better"... Seemed a little... off the mark... I think it was t-shirt slogan day today. Saw another one that said "The Deeper You Go, the Sweeter It Gets." I thought that one was a little better.

Wow - I guess it's time to go home. I'm officially into full Pet withdrawal. I had a dream that Ozzy (my dog) was shot several times in a drive by shooting. Long story short, I tried to ease her suffering and she wouldn't die and kept trying and my heart was breaking more and more each time. When I finally realized it was a dream I got the hell out fast. I guess the one nice thing about getting up a 3:30 in the morning if you have a horrific dream at 2:30 you don't have to try to go back to sleep.

Well, last class with Pattabhi this morning. Hopefully I'll get a good spot and get an adjustment from the Guruji himself. I've been lucky (and didn't even realize it because I'm so spoiled) that I got so many adjustments this week. Apparently a lot of people have only received 1 or 2 the whole week (most are from Saraswati and Sharath) and I have been getting 2 to 4 in every class. Maybe I looked like I needed more help...

Last Mysore (for now...)

Thursday, May 12, 2005

It was a good class for my last one of the week. Saraswati helped me drop back into backbend again. After coming back up you go into Paschimotanasana and she pushes down on your back. Well today Sharath's beautiful little 3 year old daughter was running around the shala and decided she was going to help so along with Saraswati's hands pushing down I feel these two little hands pushing down on my back. Best assist of the week. Saraswati said my backbend was good again but I wonder how long it will take to drop back and come up on my own. I guess we'll see. Other Assists in the class:

Little hamstring help in Padahastasana

Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimotanasana - said that if I can't reach my foot (reaching around) then both hands go forward. and then said I need to open the bent knee down more. Then she pushed a little on my back.

Helped my binding in Marichyasana A and B. It seems to pretty much be a big no-no to do b or d without the foot in half lotus. That comes first, then the wrap, block, bind, whatever.

Surprisingly, she didn't do anything in Kurmasana, which is the first day this week.

and of course the assist in Urdhva Dhanurasana.

The finishing asanas felt strong and I could easily hold the pike for 10 breaths so I guess I'm not too wiped out.

It would be interesting to do the mysore everyday for a while. It seems they help the beginners a lot with alignment but once your alignment is decent they really just help to deepen the stretches. I would imagine you could get very flexible pretty fast. I guess I'm just going to have to get to India soon...

I know I'm a dork but I had to do it. Pictures with the Jois Family. Practice was less than stellar today but I still got the Hamstring push from Sharath. I didn't sleep well so I was really draggin'. I also arrived later than normal so I didn't get as good of a spot as I usually do.








I'm trying to figure out what I want to do in class on Saturday. I think it would be good to try to follow Pattabhi's style but I think most people would crap out by the Janu's... I think a lot of students at EMW have very nice form but very limited endurance. I'm open to suggestions if anyone has any...

Now for a nap and then off to Mysore.

This is the most tired I've been all week. I kept waking up all night and at 2:30 I woke up in a panic because I thought I over slept. Turns out I turned both of my alarms off yesterday... Luckily L called with my 3:30 wake up call. I think I probably would have got up anyway but I'm definitely grateful she called. I had the same problem the other night. I couldn't fall asleep so I got up and checked my phone (one of my alarms) and I had left it on vibrate... then I fell right to sleep. Spooky. I also forgot to take my pants out of my bag after class last night so they are currently hanging in front of the air conditioner and hopefully they'll dry quickly. My other pair are in dire need of a washing, well, these are too now. Oh, well, smelly or not, here I come.

And After

Wednesday, May 11, 2005

It was really cool! I made sure I was getting a good stretch in all my upward dogs so my back would be loose. So, she puts her hand on each side of my waist, her foot between my feet. Then I inhale and stretch up and then exhale back as far as I can with my hands crossed over my chest and then come back up. I do this two more times and then on the next time I reach my hands over head and place them gently on my mat. Take a couple breaths and she helped lift me back up. And... I didn't knock her over like some other girl did. After class she told me I did a good backbend and asked my name. Pretty cool.
She also really likes to work me in Kurmasana and Supta K. and of course anything involving the hamstrings...

Well, I'm off to the ice cream.

So I'm in between classes today. Surprisingly my shoulders feel great, and one would think that with doing all the vinyasas of two primary series each day they would fatigue. However, my left knee is shot to hell and I can't really do anything that involves Padmasana. Ego took a beating this morning but I guess I'm not supposed to have it with me anyway. Still getting a few adjustments each led class. I think there is a general conspiracy to lengthen my hamstrings. It's pretty much a given that if I'm getting an assist, the hamstrings are involved. I can definitely go farther (further?) in forward fold than ever before. I'm also surprised my muscles aren't hurting (much) Other than the knee and getting a bit fatigued in vinyasas I'm feeling pretty good physically. Emotionally I'm not great but I think I'm just tired (not bad now, I just had a nap, storing energy for Mysore) I miss my kids (of the furry kind) my home, and L's obviously still in Vienna. Would be nice to have someone here to talk to. Went through the greeting line again after class today (I'm all set for weddings and funerals now) I think Sharath and Pattabhi both recognized me finally (I think Sharath usually only see's my back when he's pushing me down) and talked to Saraswati for a minute to tell her that my knee hurts but I still want to go to the mysore class. She just nods and says ok. I like her class but she is very... Abrupt (for lack of a better word) with some of her adjustments. In Prasarita Padottanasana D yesterday my head was about 4 inches off the ground. She grabbed my hips and pushed forward until my head thunks on the floor (I went past the point of balance on my toes...) and holds me for a couple of breaths and pulls me back up. Strong Lady. She also likes to assist in Utthita Hasta Padangustasana (couldn't they give that a shorter name?). She holds my foot as high as my head and I have to bring my nose to my knee "Straight Leg". She'll need to be strong today. I get to try dropping back and standing up... I need to relax or I won't have a chance to get it... Ok, so to boost my confidence I just did a backbend quite easily by walking my hands down a wall and back up. (Really. I just did it. In the space after those three periods) and I'm not warmed up at all. This could work.

And Pattabhi said "Good Morning" before "Samatithi". I think he's lightening up.

Screw it.

Tuesday, May 10, 2005

I'm tired, I'm going to bed.

I was thinking about skipping the Mysore tomorrow but right before I left Saraswati was helping someone drop back and come up from back bend, looks at me and says "tomorrow, You do this."

I guess I'm going to Mysore.

Mysore (Yes, I am)

Monday, May 09, 2005

Some times we don’t expect enough out of ourselves and in return we don’t get much. And there are those times when others, without question, expect more than we thought we could give, and we give it to them.

Ok, so round 2, Day 1… I’m wiped and my legs are like jelly. My first Mysore class this afternoon and it went really well. It was with Saraswati, Pattabhi’s daughter. She teaches just like he does, very firm but with a smile. And she, like Sharath and Pattabhi have expectations that the students can do the poses, and I think they have found that very often the students can.

So this is my posture log for the Mysore. I’ve only included the pose if something was new to me or Saraswati gave me an assist.

Surya Namaskara A & B – When jumping forward I actually “floated” and was able to place my feet down with straight legs. This is when I was really glad I didn’t bail before hand and claim I was too tired or too worried about hurting myself. I was just scared to try something new with people I didn’t know…

Padangustasana and Padahastasana – Saraswati pushed down on my sacrum and put her other hand on my upper back and I thought she was going to take my head to my feet. So the hamstrings are now loose…

Trikonasana – She put my fingers together

Parivritta Parsvakonasana – Ok, so I’m already further in this pose that I’ve every really attempted, so I was pretty happy with myself. I’ve got my back foot grounded, my top arm overhead and my fingertips of my bottom arm are sort of on the ground (my hip was out in left field but I was trying to get it back). She walks up and says “Put your hand down flat”. So I did. Huh…

I think one of the things that is helpful is they don’t say “try to…” or “see if you can…” They just say “do it” and you do. We (meaning I) may sell ourselves short more often than we think.

Supta Hasta Padangustasana – Assist on the left side (too bad not the right, that’s my tighter side) and we bow for the first five breaths and she helped me hold my leg and then had me put my nose on my knee. She also held my foot up higher than my waist for the last five breaths.

Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana – So this was the “Holy Shit” moment of the practice. Without assist I was able to wrap and grab toes on BOTH sides, hold on to them AND fold… I tried not to giggle.

Marichyasana B – Was able to put leg in half lotus and wrap and bind…First time for that
Marichyasana D – Was able to but leg in half lotus and wrap, but no bind…

Navasana - “Legs Straight” she says, so, once again, I did.

Supta Kurmasana – She actually moved me from Kurmasana to Supta, crossed my legs and pulled my hands up my back. For a split second I thought I might actually be able to touch hands. Nope.

Garbha Pindasana – Actually did it in lotus. No arms, though.

Upavishta Konasana – So today I actually moved the Glute flesh out of the way and I felt my sit bones on the floor and I could roll over them. I was actually able to touch my nose to the floor. I probably had a little more rounding in my spine than I should. Oh, and when you balance on the sitting bones they grab the sides of the feet.

Ubhaya Padangustasana – “Head Back” and “Legs Straight”

Chakrasana – I found a smooth (flowing not “cool”) way to do this. I think it’s how it is supposed to be done. Roll back like you’re going into Halasana and right before your feet hit the ground press the hands into the earth and lift off your head. It was the cleanest that has ever been for me…

All the poses took just over an hour and then a 15 minute Savasana.

So I apologize for spelling or grammar errors but I’m wiped… Off to bed.

Day 1, Session 1

Well, it’s 9 am and I’m sitting in Central Park. I had the first led Primary Series with Pattabhi. First work out of his mouth - “Samastithi”. He is definitely all business but doesn’t mind having a good time while he’s at it. “Catvari, Catvari” (sp?) was the mantra of the morning. I think Catvari is Sanskrit for the number 4 and as he counts the postures of the sun salutations he would bust people for coming out Chaturanga Dandasana and into upward dog… a lot. It seems very common for people to do Chaturanga Dandasana with their chests on the floor, even the more advance yogis. The mats were tight, about 3” between each one. There were times when I think other people had more of their bodies on my mat than I did. I receive 3 assists, all from Sharath. The first was helping pull my hand toward my toe in Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana (it didn’t make it) and the second was when he was nice enough to stick around and try to help on the other side. Kind of made me feel like the awkward fat kid that’s too big to get his arms around his back. I was, however, able to get into Padmasana for the first time with ease, no pain, and a little extra room…It was pretty cool. I couldn’t always hold it and couldn’t get the arms through in Garbha Pindasana but I was even able to do it for Urdhva Padmasana.

One of my mat mates was Megan from LA (Just moved there from Hawaii) She’s been practicing Ashtanga for 4 years and did Guruji’s work shops when they were in LA. It was really nice to have her as a guide. She joked after class about not knowing if it was her toe or mine she was grabbing. (With the mats so close there was a lot of bumping) and I replied “at least someone could reach my toes”.

Oh, Sharath’s third adjustment was putting my heels together in Salamba Sarvangasana.

I did the whole waiting in line thing to bow and touch Guruji’s feet. You do kind of feel like you’re meeting the Pope. His series was different from what I’m used to in a few different ways. His style was obviously different, we did Chakrasana immediately following Urdhva Dhanurasana before Paschimottanasana… that surprised me a bit. We held Uttana Padasana and the pike position in Sirsasana for a 10 count, not 5. My mind was racing the whole time so I couldn’t completely get into my practice. I’m sure tomorrow will be better. I’m going to the 4:30 Mysore class today with Saraswati. The plan for the afternoon is Food, Water, and Rest…

The sun is shining, trees are blooming.

It’s a good day.

Just look at the time stamp...

Ashtanga Tips

Sunday, May 08, 2005

Searching for Ashtanga hints I stumbled across this site/page. I think it's good for Ashtanga teachers and Students.

http://www.yogachicago.com/nov04/ashtanga.shtml

So I'm in NYC and it's the day before the Pattabhi thing. It's been a good day. I've had some fun revelations about finding peace in the commotion of our daily lives and how necessary it is. When we hide from the world to find peace, we only find it externally. We need to be able to find that peace in traffic, with car alarms and babies crying. It's easier to find it in savasana than parivritta trikonasana or navasana or utkatasana and where do we really need it the most. We focus on the pain and the straining (or just try to ignore it) but don't incorporate that into our peace. We need to make these moments the peaceful ones.


That was my theme of the morning in my Ashtanga I class. It was a really great class and people worked really hard. I'm always impressed when students are willing to go outside their comfort zone, especially when it increases the possibility of landing on their head. And after such a great class I was on this emotional high, driving home with my yoga buzz, seeing the good and beauty in everything when this bird flies right into the grill of my truck. THAT was a buzz kill (probably worse for the bird). However, I did pull over and check and couldn't find any feathers or blood so I think I actually missed it (or it missed me) but I wasn't quite able to get the whole buzz back.

So I'm off to the grocery in sunny Jamaica, Queens to get some food for this lovely week.

Ashtanga, NY

Saturday, May 07, 2005

God, that pizza was good. The ice-cream may have been a bit much, though... So I just finished watching Ashtanga, NY that Mel loaned me. It was truly inspiring, yet daunting at the same time. People have such amazing practices, that whole floating thru thing with the legs straight, or actually being able to straighten the legs in titibhasana... It's like a room full of Marias. I can't wait to practice in a room full of 250+ people who are all doing the primary series... I don't think I can really fathom that. I suppose I should get of the computer and actually get ready to go... I think I'm over packing... Is 5 books on yoga to many? and my Anatomy/physiology book? I'm only with Guruji until 8am so I'm trying to turn it into my own little yoga retreat. Now I'm really procrastinating... More Later from the road...

Tonight I Celebrate! Cheese Pizza and Fatty Ice-cream. It’s been a great day but busy. I’m trying to get ready to leave for New York tomorrow and I still have a ton to do but I’m lettin’ loose a little (yeah, pretty crazy, I know) because I know I’m going to be eating healthy for the next week. I want to make sure I keep my energy up. Teacher training was good today. We focused a lot on sarvangasana which I was happy about because that can be a scary pose to teach. Worked a little on back bends and Planned a Party! It will be a little bit of a going away party for me after I teach my last Primary class. It’s really going to be hard to leave everyone at the studio and I realized I only have about 5 weeks before I leave for New Paltz. That’s not much time. The primary class was good today. Sunny and warm in Buffalo, so a small turn out but really strong yogis for the most part. It’s really fun watching people’s practices grow and evolve.


Tonight I’m going to watch the movie Pattabhi made last time he was in NYC (which happened to be during 9/11). Hopefully I’ll get an idea of what’s going to happen (sans plane crashes). I’m very excited but very nervous at the same time. I

Oops, gotta go. Pizza’s done! I’ll write more later.

Welcome to my mind.

the Mentality of Physicality

Friday, May 06, 2005

It’s amazing how fast the tedium of work can kill a yoga buzz. I did the primary series again this morning in my preparation for going to play with Pattabhi in NYC. I didn’t feel all that strong today but I’ve been working pretty hard and didn’t sleep much last night. Hopefully my energy will boost before my practice this afternoon. I’m finding myself getting frustrated with my limitations but one of the things I found myself thinking about when my focus was wandering this morning is that the people doing the advanced practice like I want to be doing have been practicing for 4, 5, 20 years… I guess I need to look at the great progress I’ve made in the last year. I have a feeling that I need to leave the ego out of the studio more than I do, but I guess that is as much of the practice as anything else… a little bit at a time. I think that’s probably how I should treat this blog, too. Make the entries short and frequent. Two other quick notes. Savasana in a sunbeam is really cool (as I learned yesterday). And L leaves for Vienna tomorrow (Yuck) and I go stay in her place on Sunday for a week. How’s THAT for timing…
Oh, yeah, I figured out this blog thing, I think.

Still testing the ol' Blog...

Thursday, May 05, 2005

I still can't seem to get the blog home to publish but the individual pages seem to work ok. I'm currently testing a blog entry via email... don't worry, eventually I'll start talking about something.

So I guess I'm trying to see if this even works... Heading into some life changing areas so thought I would try something like this as a journal thing. Maybe I can work on my creative writing, too...